911 Iguana Rescuers

Just go away and leave me alone. I did not ask to be photographed or much less to be saved. I only got myself trapped in here because I wanted to put an end to my miserable existence after my beloved female died in the same fashion, but I did not succeed. I’m a big loser.

I made so much noise after getting stuck, that the human lady who lives in the house right across this fence had to come out and sort out a way of saving my life. First she took a photo of me with her cell phone and then called her sister to boast about my misery. How humiliating!

Then, she left me on my own, and I thought I was finally going to join my female in iguana heaven, but no. I saw this human lady coming my way and now she was carrying a ladder. She neatly placed it over the fence. Then she left again and came back quickly with another lady. They both looked at me while probably deciding which was the best way to cut me in two, and get rid of my remains by throwing them to the river nearby, but I was wrong again. I saw how the first lady climbed up the ladder and jumped the fence. She put something soft around my hind legs and my long tail, and started pulling me back.

Then, the other lady rubbed my head with her fingertips while saying all sorts of nice things I did not want to hear. And, without asking me, she just stretched my forearms forward so they could slide back, along with the rest of my body, through the hole I had deliberately stuck myself in.

I was gently put on the ground and as soon as I felt I was free I gave both ladies a dirty look, waved my throat flap at them and ran away. I think I heard them celebrating, although there was nothing worth cheering about. Now I know it’s no use trying to commit suicide again, because there will be slats on that fence next time.

Hmm, or maybe it’s not my time and I will meet a nice lady iguana very soon…

 

16 thoughts on “911 Iguana Rescuers

  1. Really cute story and great job saving the Iguana. I hope that he does find a new mate.

  2. Addie says:

    I loved it. And fingers crossed on this poor iguana meeting a nice lady iguana. There’s a reason he was given another chance at life.
    Thanks to the human lady.

  3. munchow says:

    Calling 911… We have a stuck squirrel here, can you come and set it free? What a fresh story! And sad – if this is really what the iguana thought. Maybe he will soon meet some other lady iguana – and get on with life. You gave a good laugh. Thanks for the creativity – and thanks on behalf of the iguana.

    • mcolmo says:

      Hahaha, I do hope this male iguana gets on with his life because it’s the same one from my previous entry. I don’t know why he got himself stuck in there. He was lucky I was home and I heard some bustling on the fence. Since my sister and I are such animal lovers, I called her up and she arrived quickly. Then, I jumped the fence and pulled him back, she helped with his forearms. The poor iguana was very tired, that’s why he didn’t attack or try to bite. When I sent him on the ground, he stood still for a while, breathing heavily and we thought he was seriously injured, but then he turned around and ran away! I hope he stays away from that fence, or any other fence, for the rest of his life. And yes, please, hope he finds a female soon! 🙂

  4. xandimusic says:

    very nice story, great!
    Peace
    xandi

  5. Pattie says:

    Cute story– I feel like I know that little iguana. What a character. (o:

  6. Fergiemoto says:

    Awww…that’s a cute story. It’s good you were able to rescue him.

  7. Ligia says:

    Jajajaja loved it!

  8. Gossippet says:

    Ja ja ja, loved it!!!!

Leave a comment