About illustrating a book

Illustrating a book may seem as a rather easy task, but not really. The illustrator must have both knowledge and sensitivity to re-create, through drawings, the touch and feel, and the atmosphere that is being described in a particular story.

That’s why when I first gave Adriana Rosario, the rough draft of Philomena Sparks, for her to start reading, I told her that if she did not like or felt identified with the story in any way, that then I’d look for someone else to illustrate the book, but no, I did not have to. I believe Adriana made such an excellent job, and we’re all very proud of her. Here are some of her illustrations while they were still in the making.

I won’t say what they’re all about because then I’d be ruining the story for you. All I’ll say for now is that my favorite is the last one. Although sometimes I have trouble making up my mind, because all of them are so beautiful and carefully drawn. I have to say I am extremely happy and quite pleased with the way the book ended up looking. Now, I have to make it available in electronic format, and I hope the illustrations look as wonderful as they do in print.

4 thoughts on “About illustrating a book

  1. susielindau says:

    Fantastic! You must be so excited. Can’t wait to see the finished product!
    Thanks for bringing it to the party. Make sure to click on a few links!

  2. munchow says:

    There is a softness and a way of bringing life to the characters that permeates Adriana Rosario’s illustrations. I can understand your excitement about them in your book.

    • mcolmo says:

      She did such an excellent job, and she’s not even studying art. She’s majoring in languages, so go figure. She loved the story and managed to put into drawing the essence of it. I guess that’s what a true illustrator does, and she did great. :-)

Leave a Reply

