iPad games

I’m not a real gamer. I am proud to say I was part of the Atari generation where I was happy with a joystick and a red button, and even then, I was disastrous. I lost at all games, had poor high scores and basically ended up handing the joystick to my brother, or whoever was home desperately waiting for “the next one to lose,” so they could have a turn. Although, I think the only game I was really good at was Maze Craze. The rest of them? I just sucked.

As the years passed, I continued to suck at all computer games, so I avoided all of the diabolical inventions that followed: ColecoVision, Nintendo, Play Station, XBox, etc. I still cringe like a vampire on garlic each time someone mentions the idea of playing a video game with me.

But, I must admit I recently succumbed to the empire of the iPad. Since they were born and spread all over humankind, I wanted to join in the realm of these reality alienating devices, so I started saving until I triumphantly entered an Apple store and left feeling like a goddess, holding tight my powerful tool. I knew I could take over the gaming world now.

Yet, this gaming world conquest requires a strategic path. I refuse to download a game just because it happens to be the latest craze. So, I carefully check and read about games before downloading and playing them. I refuse to inundate my iPad with nonsensical stuff, like Candy Crush. Instead, I search for more mentally challenging puzzles. The ones I have discovered and love so far are: Bridges, Machinarium and The Room.

mzl.jwuwleyd

This is a highly entertaining game where you have to connect same colored dots to each other, without leaving a blank space on the board. The first levels are very easy, but it gets harder as you get into the 10 x 10 and 14 x 14 boards.

5

This board has one connecting bridge. You can only cross two colored paths in one bridge, but as the game gets harder, you get two or sometimes three bridges on the board, and you have to figure out which colors get to use it. It’s a challenging and entertaining game.

machinarium-wallpaper-cover-1920x1200

Machinarium is such a beautiful game. I loved it. Although it took me ages to finish it, I was quite entertained walking around in a world full of tin, robot-like creatures, trinkets and puzzles. You have to solve a puzzle each time you want to continue the game and get to the next level, and as you play, you pick up objects and clues that help you solve the puzzles along the way.

machinarium-umbrella

It’s very cute and the music is awesome. I’d love to own the soundtrack. The only thing that bothered me a bit is that you have to keep on playing a spider killing game in order to get to the clues and keys to solve the puzzles.

machinarium-1

Some of them were quite hard and frustrating, but the game is so cute it was worth going through all the trouble.

the-room-pocket_573156739-01.jpg

The Room is such a great puzzle game. The graphics are extraordinary and the puzzles are excellent. Basically, you are alone in a room with a strange object, and you have to figure out the way to open it and find out what it does.

unnamed

It’s amazing. I loved the sound effects and the fact that you actually have to move or tilt the iPad in order to solve some of the puzzles. The graphics make an excellent use of perspective, and you can examine the object from above, below, far and near. Very cleverly and well made.

TheRoom-Tabletop
The end of the game is beautiful, and overall, I found the game a bit short, but just my luck, they uploaded an update last night, so there is more to come! Can’t wait to see what this new chapter is all about.

Are there more puzzle games like these out there?

Suggestions are welcome.

2 thoughts on “iPad games

  1. munchow says:

    I have to admit I am a little like you. Well, I did actually play quite a bit many years ago, but suddenly realized it took all my time and I completely quit. However I do see the point when waiting in airports or travelling that it would be fun to have something else to do than read. And all these games you present here look really fun. Thanks for sharing. Although, first I need to get an iPad…

Leave a Reply

