The Jinxed Handyman

Image

This is a true story, believe it or not.

A few weeks ago, I noticed my bathroom sink was leaking. At first, I did not pay much attention to it, since it was only a small droplet of cold water that fell at a rate of 5 per minute or so from the tap, to the bottom of the sink. I even got a kick out of the fact that Ricardo, one of my cats, noticed it and jumped into the sink, every now and then, to quench his thirst out of the tiny drops that slid from his head to his mouth. Yes, this cat is a bit weird and loves running water.

As the days went by, the leak got worse, gradually, until it became a continuous stream of water. And so, it was only yesterday when I finally decided to call the handyman.

This handyman is a a trustworthy guy that Mom had recommended, so I phoned him up, explained the situation, and said he could fix it that same day. The only inconvenient was that he did not have a car, and I had to pick him up at the train station. So, after buying a new faucet, I picked up the handyman and drove him to my house. He fixed the leaking in two minutes. I tried everything and it worked fine. Now, I had to take the guy back to the station, which I gladly did.

When I came back, as I pushed the button to close my driveway’s door, the engine clanked making an awkward noise, the light bulb exploded and at the same time, the chain that actually holds and pulls the door up and down, became loose and dangled down like a swing. To complete the whole dramatic scene, a crank wheel, about the size of a dollar coin, knocked me on the head and then fell to the floor. I picked it up and the grease blackened my hands, so I just put it aside on the floor again.

Since it was early evening already, I decided to leave everything the way it was and deal with it in the morning. My car was already parked inside and I had no intention of going out again.

Once inside the house, I go to the bathroom to wash my hands, only to discover a small puddle of water on the floor, right in front of the sink. I grabbed the mop and cleaned it, and then bent down behind the sink and discovered that now the hot water hose was leaking badly. I put some towels on the floor and an old sock around the hose, to prevent it from leaking and at least try to hold it until morning.

Today, I phoned up the handyman quite early, explained the problem, and so I went to pick him up at the station again, then drove to a hardware store to buy a new hose. After fixing the bathroom sink for good, I told him about the driveway door and he decided to take a look. I had to move my car again, to give him room to work, and just as I put the key in the ignition and turned the car on, the “service engine soon” light showed up!

Shall I tell him about this?

I don’t think so…

I’m just sitting here writing, waiting and praying nothing else blows up.

8 thoughts on “The Jinxed Handyman

  1. m5son says:

    Funny story. And there is something really quaint about having to pick up this honest handyman from the train station.

  2. munchow says:

    There is simply no end to fixing when you own a house. So, yes, just “enjoy” those ever occurring moments. Great story – but I feel for you. I am glad it’s fixed – for now.

  3. Fergiemoto says:

    Oh dear…..hope they get fixed and that you don’t have any other problems.

    • mcolmo says:

      Thank God everything got fixed, but I haven’t had a chance to see what’s up with the ‘service engine soon’ that came up. My car has the ability of turning that on for no reason.

  4. susielindau says:

    This is so ironic since we were leaving for the mtns and realized that one garage door was busted. When we arrived today, the guys were already here. We walked in and the ice damming on the roof created a huge leak in a bedroom and the drywall was sagging with water dripping on to the hardwood floors.
    Isn’t home owning fun???

Leave a Reply

