Old San Juan

For me, there’s nothing like spending a Sunday afternoon in San Juan, particularly the old part of the city. And if that Sunday happens to be New Year’s Day, well then, it’s even better.

Image

I just love the cobblestoned streets,

Image

the narrow alleys,

Image

the steep streets,

Image

the not so steep and slightly wider ones,

Image

the Christmas decorations,

Image

and the street performers at Plaza de Armas.

Image

Aside from taking photos, I also like to sit down and enjoy the performance.

Image

And my sister likes posing in front of groovy old hippie vans.

Image

Some people like walking at Ponce de León Plaza,

Image

but we chose to visit the Totem. My sister got in the way, but it’s ok, I don’t mind.

Image

Right in front of the totem , there is this spread out floor fountain where children love to play all year round. I confess I have gotten in there too, but I won’t be posting that one…

for now.

Wishing you all a wonderful New Year 2012.

M.

16 thoughts on “Old San Juan

  1. wolke205 says:

    Wonderful photos 🙂

  2. munchow says:

    San Juan looks like a beautiful city. Your pictures give a vivid sense of the place. The colours in the first picture of the cobblestone are just amazing – a lovely picture.

    • mcolmo says:

      Thank you munchow, you can visit anytime, since you’ll be relatively nearby, at La Havana. I think they have cobblestones there as well, but I’m not so sure. 🙂

  3. That VW hippie van is beautiful!
    robert
    PS: it was my dream many decades ago…and still is 🙂

  4. Old San Juan looks beautiful. I love all the colours and the fountain!!!

  5. susielindau says:

    I just shared your photos with my mom and sister and we all enjoyed them!!
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. xandimusic says:

    great photos, love them!
    xandi

  7. Fergiemoto says:

    Great photos! I was in San Juan for less than a day. Wish I could have seen more.

  8. plaidoak says:

    Love the cobblestone pics… and the groovy bus. (o:

    ~Pattie

Leave a Reply

