Inside ‘The World Within’

Writing is not an easy task. Between organizing your thoughts and putting them down in words, a hundred million things can happen. Plus, add in there that fact that you have to work and clean the house, do laundry,  go to the supermarket, run errands, etc. You have to set some time aside to sit down, clear up your mind and write, and if the muse is not working at that particular time, hours can go by on a single paragraph, or even a a single line. Although the opposite may also happen, where you can write five or six pages in a couple of hours, time seems to fly and you just flow with it.

That’s why it took me over a year to finish my first novel, but I’d like to share a section here where the main character is about to enter the mysterious world within the rainforest:

“Climbing up the wall did not look like such an impossible mission. Even though the artifacts were quite closely knit up, there were some objects that stuck out, here and there, and with concentration and skill, I could use them as climbing grippers to find my way up. With a big sigh, I slowly started my ascent to the top. The first four or five steps were easy, but when I was halfway up, I had to stretch my right leg far onto what looked like a bicycle pedal and then slide myself on top of it, much like a spider would do. After this step, there were many protruding things I could use to reach the top. I counted in my head, “one, two, three” and managed to slide and lift myself up to the pedal, then I quickly stretched my left leg onto a car handle that stuck out in the most convenient way. Next, I took hold of two metallic objects, near the edge of the wall. They were indeed the two parts of a broken set of pliers, I grabbed them tightly and stepped on an old skateboard that lay stuck, in a perpendicular position, with half of its side view stuck to the wall. Now that I could stand on my two feet, on the same wall grip, I took a few seconds to gather my strength and my breath. I only had to tiptoe over the edge to take a look of what lay on the other side.

Then, as I placed my hands over the wall and stood on the tip of my toes to take a peek, a pair of mushy, yet warm strong hands were placed above mine, and I was face to face with the most unimaginable creature I had ever seen. Its face resembled a meerkat’s, only that it was furrier and rounder, with deep-dark, large crystal-like eyes. Its ears were round as well, and they balanced in size to its equally dark, rounded snout, which bulged out with long silver whiskers that moved about nervously as if examining me. While doing so, I noticed its mouth opening and closing for a brief moment; showing me its white, pointy-sharp teeth, a detail that proved to be its most terrifying feature. “Rah-ka-tah-koo-BAH-LAH” the creature whispered as it threw a handful of purple mist right into my face and almost immediately, everything around me turned to darkness.”

The book is available both in print as well as in Kindle format and you can read the first chapter and part of the second over here:

Mac lovers, can click over here:

The World Within

 

Like any other writer, I’d love to be read, of course, I won’t deny it, but I guess it’s a matter of time. I also have a short story uploaded, and that one can be downloaded for $0 and surprisingly, it has been in the Top 100 Amazon’s Best Sellers under Mythology for some weeks now. So, I guess that in order for my book to get there, I’ll have to put it up for free as well…

Unfortunately, I can’t do that. I wish I could though…

 

 

18 thoughts on “Inside ‘The World Within’

  1. susielindau says:

    It looks like an awesome book! I love the descriptions!

  2. I would love to purchase your book..is there any way to get it rather then as a e-book..as believe it or not i am not into I-pads,phones..etc…I do thinkl a lot of you..and wish to support you.
    Kindest Regards and much love and joy.

    gg

  3. myfamilymylife says:

    Congratulations on getting your novel completed. I’ve been trying for 6 years to get my novel written. But like you said, everything else gets in the way. But I know that if it’s something I really want to accomplish, then I just have to GET IT DONE!!

    • mcolmo says:

      Thank You! The thing one must set time aside to complete and focus on it. There were days I could write a sentence or a paragraph because I wasn’t that inspired, and there were others that I just couldn’t stop writing because the muse was on high. Just go with the flow and DO IT! 🙂

  4. munchow says:

    Great to have the book out there. And congratulations with the Top 100. But I certainly can understand your reluctance to give short stories away for free. One cannot survive on freebies. Thanks for sharing a section of your book. I like the quote and need to look up the book. May it become a success.

  5. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    I agree with tinalynne.
    And you’ve got to realise not ALL free short stories would be up there. You are being hard on yourself. Now, LET YOURSELF be successful 🙂

  6. susielindau says:

    Very cool! Congratulations!

  7. Addie says:

    Wow. Congrats on being in the Top 100!!! 😀

    • mcolmo says:

      Thank you! Although I am here thinking the only reason my short story is there is because it’s free… 😦

      • tinalynne says:

        That’s ok! That can be a huge leg up for an eBook, because it lets readers know that it’s out there. It’s so hard to browse for eBooks if you don’t know exactly what you’re looking for, and most people end up missing out on some great books. Once you get people interested, they’ll tell their friends about it, and they’ll tell their friends… 🙂

      • mcolmo says:

        Thank you! I know it’s so hard to browse for books. I’m surprised my short story has had such a good reception, so that’s why I think people like it because it’s for free, but then again, not all free ebooks are good. Maybe I’m being too hard on myself.

Leave a Reply

