14 thoughts on “Of demons, bonfires and hellish places

  1. munchow says:

    I am not sure I dare post a comment in fear that your hellish bonfire would strike back. But I certainly understand your sentiment. I find this kind of behaviour both arrogant and ignorant. How right of you to give the account executive a good one. The question is, will he learn anything from the experience? Besides I am always amazed about the print business. Why is everything always done the last second? I experience it all the time; someone needs something for some printed matter – and needed it yesterday. Even if the whole process has been in planning for months. I guess it’s just the way the business works.

    • mcolmo says:

      It’s like you say Munchow, everything is for yesterday, but in this case it wasn’t. And I do hate wasting my precious time just waiting for something that was not needed in a rush, so on top, I was lied to. Although I was not offensive towards the guy, now he doesn’t dare look at me in the eye and doesn’t speak to me. I reserve the right to interpret this behaviour as ‘I knew I was wrong and I did this to her for the last time ever’.
      This same guy once called me at 10:30 p.m. on a Sunday because he needed me to correct something that needed to be sent to the press very early on Monday, and that ‘something’ was handed to me to proofread again at 2:00 p.m. on that Monday, and my corrections from the previous night were nowhere to be found, so I had to work on the document all over again. I hate wasting time like that.

  2. Fergiemoto says:

    Oh no…so frustrating!

  3. Mike says:

    You were treated rudely and with some disrespect. The last time that happened to me in 2007 I decided to let my supervisor know how I felt about it. It got me fired, and ended my career. Such is life, at least I left with my integrity intact.

  4. susielindau says:

    …so frustrating…

  5. MCOLMO – My wife is from San German, my brother-in-law lives in Rio Piedras and I had an old army buddy named John Olmo who was from a town south of SJ. I have written several short stories about PR. If you wish to communicate you may “friend” me on facebook. Hope this forwardness isn’t disturbing.

  6. I also wonder, at times, if the whole world is going backwards. In your case it was the standard arrogant lier. If anyone asks him about the lack of clarity in the flier he will blame it on you – – – “Olmo never returned the corrected copy to me.” That is the standard type excuse for these dirtbags. Not only do they depend on you but they also blame it on you. These people eventually get caught up in their own web. Good luck in the future.

    • mcolmo says:

      True! But I have the emails with the time and proof that I did check those flyers. The corrections are in there and the email says: 11:04 p.m. and I am saving it. They do depend on me, they don’t appreciate what I do and if anything goes wrong it’s all my fault. It’s such a retarded scheme. Thank you for commenting.

Leave a Reply

