Halloween Ideas

So, Halloween is just around the corner, and for this year I wanted to do something a bit different, but with a more “current world events” theme. Long story short, I chose to become a plague doctor. Now, the problem with this is that there are not that many visual references of the actual plague doctor of medieval times, so I had to rely on the few pictures that can be found over the Internet and of course, my imagination.

While doing research I came across the masks done by Tom Banwell which are beautiful, but expensive. So, I decided to draw one, make a pattern out of my drawing and build the mask myself.

 

IMG_1095

 

IMG_1096

 

I first drew the pattern on white paper and adjusted it to fit my face, then, I traced the drawings to a piece of white cardboard, and cut the pieces out.

 

IMG_1097

 

Next, I attached them together using tape. I just wanted to have a prototype to see how it would look like. I adjusted the bottom part with manila paper, because the cardboard was a bit heavy and wouldn’t sit in place.

 

IMG_1099

 

 

IMG_1098

 

I used leather scraps to make my mask. There is a nearby shop where they sell different types of leather and leather products, so I went in and bought a small piece that would suffice for my project.

 

IMG_1109

 

I traced my pattern and made a Burtonesque detail around the eyes, just for fun. I wanted my mask to look different and unique.

 

IMG_1115

 

This is the mask nearly finished. The scissors are there to help the mask stand on on its own. I used soft, malleable pieces of leather, not suede. So although the material was soft, it took me a long while to sew the pieces together. First, I had to drill tiny holes all around the edges. But, in the end, that made the sewing part a whole lot easier.

 

IMG_1133

 

My sister joined me in my madness as a Black Swan…

 

IMG_1131

 

And in the end, I threw in a little something to make the whole outfit more appropriate for the times we are experiencing.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Halloween Ideas

  1. JackieP says:

    I’m here from Susie’s party. Great idea for a costume! And making it yourself from leather was brilliant. 🙂

  2. PigLove says:

    Oh Snorts – great idea – I ❤ it! I think this would look so marvelous on daddy 🙂 Good to meet you – Susie sent me. XOXO – Bacon

  3. Cassandra says:

    Very clever!

    Susie sent me.

  4. mcolmo says:

    LOL! I’d like to make another one. It will be easier next time.

  5. susielindau says:

    That is fantastic!!!

Leave a Reply

